News Flash Home
The original item was published from 7/27/2012 1:07:46 PM to 8/1/2012 12:05:01 AM.

News Flash

Agriculture News and Livestock Inspections

Posted on: July 27, 2012

[ARCHIVED] Midwest Drought Corn Crop damage increases

July 25, U.S. Department of Agriculture – (National) Another 76 counties declared disasters.

July 25, the U.S. Agriculture Secretary designated 76 additional counties in 6 States as primary natural disaster areas due to damage and losses caused by drought and excessive heat. During the 2012 crop year, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 1,369 counties across 31 States as disaster areas — 1,234 due to drought — making all qualified farm operators in the areas eligible for low-interest emergency loans. The additional counties designated July 25 are in the States of Indiana, Illinois, Kansas, Michigan, Nebraska, and Wisconsin. The U.S. Drought Monitor reported two-thirds of the continental United States is in a moderate to exceptional drought. During the week of July 16, the portion of the U.S. corn crop rated in very poor to poor condition climbed to 45 percent, according to USDA’s National Agricultural Statistics Service.


Facebook Twitter Email