News Flash Home
The original item was published from 6/12/2012 2:20:04 PM to 7/13/2012 12:05:00 AM.

News Flash

Agriculture News and Livestock Inspections

Posted on: June 12, 2012

[ARCHIVED] U.S. Dept. of Agric. granted Secretarial disaster designation for Calif. counties including Plumas

May 31, 2012, the U. S. Dept. of Agric. granted a Secretarial disaster designation for the primary counties of Alameda, Marin, Tehama, and contiguous counties of Plumas, Butte, Contra Costa, Glenn, Mendocino, San Joaquin, Santa Clara, Shasta, Sonoma, Stanislaus and Trinity due to agricultural losses caused by drought beginning October 1, 2011, and continuing.

Emergency farm loans for actual losses as a direct result of the disaster
Up to a maximum of $500,000
Interest rate 3.75 percent

Appl. deadline January 31, 2013

Who may apply: Farmers and ranchers who conduct family-sized farming operations

USDA website for additional information:

June 7, Salem Capital Press – (California) Drought disaster declared in 3 Calif. counties.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) declared three counties in California to be primary natural disaster areas because of drought that has persisted since October 2011, the Salem Capital Press reported June 7. Farmers and ranchers in Tehama, Marin, and Alameda counties as well as 11 contiguous counties will be able to apply for disaster assistance to make up for losses. The declaration comes after a dry spell lingered in much of the State from November 2011 until January, causing unseasonable fire danger that prompted the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection to increase staffing in January. Even after a healthy round of late-winter and early-spring rains, most areas in California are still well below their seasonal rainfall totals, according to the National Weather Service.


Facebook Twitter Email